• Tue , 21 March 2023

The Asia Cup starts today

Amimul Ehsan Rahid
Published: 10:55 am, 27 August 22 , Saturday


Cricket fans can expect some thrilling T20 matches over the following 16 days as the 15th edition of the Asia Cup kicks off today with a game between hosts Sri Lanka and Afghanistan at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

The game will begin at 8:00 p.m.

The six-team competition, which was forced to relocate from Sri Lanka due to political and economic upheaval, will be played in T20 format for the second time in the tournament’s 38-year history. The only previous occasion the event used the T20 format was in 2016, when India won by defeating hosts Bangladesh in the final at Mirpur.

Bangladesh has failed to get to the Asia Cup final three times in the past four editions of the continental event. The Tigers came closest to winning the championship in 2012, when they were defeated by Pakistan by two runs in the final at home.

However, except the 2014 edition at home, in which they lost all four of their matches, the Tigers have made significant statements in the event since then. Bangladesh will be captained this time by star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who was appointed captain of the shortest format at the eleventh hour following dramatic events.

The Shakib-led team will begin their campaign against Afghanistan on August 30 in Sharjah, and as the captain stated, the Tigers will take one game at a time in their initial effort to pass the group stage and advance to the Super 4.

The blockbuster match between India and Pakistan on August 28 in Dubai, which will start both teams’ Asia Cup campaigns, will be one of the tournament’s highlights.